Nature
Follow This Easy Process To Get Started Playing Alamaze
Step #1 - Register for Forum Account      Step #2 - Create New Player Account      Step #3 - Sign In  (to issue turn orders and join games)
ATTENTION: After Creating Player Account and Signing In, select the GAME QUEUE link in the Order System screen to Create or Join games.
Alamaze Website                 Search Forum              Contact Support@Alamaze.net


Player Aids             Rulebook             Spellbook             Help Guides             Kingdom Set-Ups             Kingdom Abbreviations             Valhalla             Discord

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
139 (Wizard Assist) & 132 (Light of Evening Star)
#1
Hello all! If I cast #132 Light of Evening Star, or if this is intrinsically cast due to wizard level, do I still need to issue #139 to instruct my wizard to participate?

If I do NOT need #139, then is the only real purpose of #139 to instruct Adepts to go on the mission since any wizard of level 1 or higher will typically just issue #132 instead?
Reply

#2
If it is intrinsically cast because of level, you still need to enter something (like guarded attack) if you want your wizard to participate. The intrinsic just saves you from having to cast that spell just for the right to participate.
Reply

#3
Thank you! Supposing I only have a level 1 then and that wizard casts #132, then the leaders have the option to go on the mission. But in this scenario, that wizard, since he already cast a spell, could not issue a #139 or other spell like guarded attack. So, it's really best to have a wizard with intrinsic #132 so that the group can undertake the unusual sighting and also have the wizard participate. Do I understand it correctly?
Reply

#4
Wizard Assist Encounter (139) is used to instruct your wizard to go with the patrol to investigate the encounter (note - 140 for the group is still needed). Doing so will expose the wizard to all the dangers, but he will also employ his full power. In my experience, the stronger the overall patrol the less chance for any figure, leader or wizard, to die.

Guarded Attack (101) can be used, which will result in the wizard being safe for the encounter, but only half his power will be used.

Mirror Image (138) is often the encounter spell of choice, as it allows the wizard to use his full power but with very low risk. You CAN lose a wizard in this way, but it is very rare. I've only encountered this situation once in dozens of attempts.

The intrinsic spells need never be cast; they apply automatically if your wizard uses one of the above options. Also, check your setup for kingdom traits; some kingdoms get access to all encounter types without the need for these.
Reply

#5
(08-31-2025, 05:52 PM)j2klbs Wrote: Thank you! Supposing I only have a level 1 then and that wizard casts #132, then the leaders have the option to go on the mission. But in this scenario, that wizard, since he already cast a spell, could not issue a #139 or other spell like guarded attack. So, it's really best to have a wizard with intrinsic #132 so that the group can undertake the unusual sighting and also have the wizard participate. Do I understand it correctly?

Yes, in a perfect world you want it as intrinsic.
Reply



Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Powered By MyBB, © 2002-2025 Melroy van den Berg.